We Enter the Home Straight

So I’m shifting into high gear. From today, we have only 121.5 hours until NaNoWriMo 2010 begins. After my nice, restful vacation, I’m reading to bust out a novel!

I didn’t get much done on vacation, which makes sense – it was a vacation. I definitely feel like it recharged my batteries, and I did manage to work past a particularly thorny plot problem, so I’m feeling pretty good about the next week. Much remains to be done, though, so let’s quickly run through it, shall we?

  • I need to finish the detailed outline. About 50% of it still remains to do, but I’m hoping to bust through it in only two or three days. I’m writing a paragraph per chapter, approximately, which isn’t the most inspiring task but I think that it’s really helping, and whatever I put down on paper is something that I don’t have to keep in my head.
  • Finish the character overview. I’m pretty much done with most of the primary and secondary characters, but I want to drop in just a few details for the tertiary ones (physical appearance and mannerisms, if nothing else). I also want to do just a little more personality work for my two main characters.
  • Some more worldbuilding. This will pretty much handle itself as I daydream about my story while working. Speaking of work, the next week is going to seem pretty insignificant compared to the challenge ahead of me.

So, there you have it. Thoroughly manageable. Hopefully it will all have been worth it – I’ll be a little upset if I end up strangling on my own planning and have to throw it all out.

Finally, is anyone else out there doing NaNoWriMo? As of right now, I have exactly one NaNo writing buddy, and it’s someone that I don’t even talk to that often. I’d love to have someone else to keep me honest; everyone could use one of those. So, if you’ve decided to give it a go, let me know and we can use each other for boasting and humiliation, just as it should be.

Leave a Reply

