NaNoWriMo Countdown

As I write this, it’s a little under 25 hours until NaNoWriMo 2010 begins for real. I’ve got my planning done, more or less, I’ve got my characters and my setting, and I have tons of caffeine ready to go. So yeah, it’s time to kick this mother off. I’m basically trying to psyche myself up so hard that it’s going to be difficult to sleep tonight.

Earlier today, I went to the Portland NaNoWriMo Kickoff Party, and I had a blast. I’ve never done any of the social events that come with NaNoWriMo before; mostly just my close friends and I would hang out and write. This year, though, I felt compelled to get out there and try to meet some folks in the area who are in the same boat, and I’m glad I did.

Partly this was because I’ve starting hanging out in the Portland regional forum on the NaNoWriMo boards, and I’ve had some interesting conversations: the grudge match between Nashville and Portland (we’re betting Powell’s on victory), the argument over the Portland NaNo mascot (say hello to Stumpy, the Wrimo stump!), and various other pumpings-up.

Partly it was also because of this blog. I’m being ambitious this year in not just trying to write a novel, but actually completely finish a novel, and I need all the encouragement I can get. I also need all the audience I can get, for that matter, and I’m hoping that at least one or two other Portland folks will visit my website and become interested.

Partly, it’s just because I love the feeling of going into something crazy with other people. Sitting in a room with a hundred other writers of tremendously varying age and experience, it’s a great feeling to know that we’re all in the same boat. We can all laugh when someone says, “I have a main character, but no plot,” and someone shouts from across the room “No problem – you still have 24 hours!” It’s a tremendously awesome situation.

I love NaNoWriMo. It’s my favorite part of the year, and the rest of the Portland folks haven’t seen the last of me yet.

Leave a Reply

