Status Update Time

I just broke the 20K word barrier, and I’m rocketing onward toward the halfway point of NaNoWriMo. As far as the greater drafting project is concerned, this puts me at way less than 25%. I’m definitely in this for the long haul, and it’s starting to hit me exactly how long a haul it’s going to be.

Not that I’m getting discouraged. I’ve been having days of writing 3000 to 4000 words, and I definitely won’t need to keep this up until the end; even 2000 a day will have me finishing in less than ten weeks. And of course there’s a chance that I’ll just end up finishing the story without having met my word count target, which is fine. Great, even. I’d rather not over-write and have to cut a bunch of stuff later.

It’s actually occurring to me that I’m doing exactly that. I have long paragraphs of description because they’re so easy to write and I have no time for sentences that do more with less. That’s incredibly counter-productive as a NaNo-er and, furthermore, as a discovery writer. But this year more than any other, I have to keep consciously reminding myself, “Fix it in the rewrite.”

I’ve also been having a great time at the social events this year. Last night’s write-in at McMenamins was great fun, if noisy and crowded – something like 12 people showed up at one point or another. That’s about 10 more than I expected, and I was really pleased to see a few people that I hadn’t communicated with since the kickoff party. Definitely looking forward to the next write-in. It was going to be tomorrow, but I’m not going to make it for reasons that I’ll cover in the next post.

If you’re a Wrimo, now’s the time to write 100 more words! I know I’m going to. If you’re not, then rest easy knowing that the novels of the future are on their way.

Leave a Reply

