Some Plot Thoughts (With Specifics!)

Just finished a great weekend with the family. Relaxation, food, good conversation – I am truly fortunate to be related to such excellent folks. But of course you only care about the posts, so here we go.

I’m at the point in my discovery writing where things start to get a little more difficult. I’m looking back at what I’ve already written, and although I think it’s entirely serviceable it’s naturally getting to be more and more difficult to fit the pieces together. As I mentioned in my previous post, some characters and minor plot arcs that I expected to have at most a minor impact in the story have started to surge forward and demand a spot in the limelight, and I feel the need to accommodate these urges.

This really is my favorite part of discovery writing, even though it’s hard: watching the characters take charge.

So here’s the nuts and bolts of it. Fugitives from Earth has a number of main arcs:

  1. The main characters, in possession of valuable information, are being pursed by government and corporate forces.
  2. The corporate thug pursuing them, slowly developing an obsession.
  3. That thug’s boss’ boss, responsible for getting the information that the main characters have.
  4. The government, which started the story united with the corporation but has now revealed their own agenda.

The story of Fugitives is essentially these four plotlines intertwining, but its played out in four distinct parts: Moon, Venus, Mars, and Jupiter. Each part is separated by distance, obviously, but also by time as the characters travel. Furthermore, each part has its own subplot with its own beginning, middle, and end.

For instance, Part II: Venus (which I just wrapped up) involves the fugitives seeking refuge from their old friend, a smugglers. Meanwhile, the corporate thug has beat them there and is staging an ambush with the help of a traitor in the smuggler’s midst. This traitor (spoiler alert!) has his own agenda, in addition to being in the government’s pocket. The story of the Venus part is the story of the smuggler’s operation getting thrown into the main arcs I listed above and chewed up.

So, as I’m starting Part III: Mars, I’m working on reconciling the character plots that I outlined initially with the new subplots that have emerged as I’m writing. It’s hard, but it’s fun, and I think that the story will be better for it.

The good news is that I don’t have to write just to fill up space – the words seem to fly by. I fully expect to have to cut a good 50 pages out of the story by the time I’m done, but it’s been a tremendously educational experience, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

