The Halfway Point

So, this is the halfway point. Three months ago, I started a crazy project to write a publishable novel in six months. I really had no idea what I was doing at that point, and I probably still don’t.

So, quick status update: first, of all, I thought that I had two weeks to finish my first draft according to my schedule, but it turns out that I had planned to start my revisions on the 16th, with a week-long break starting on the 9th. That’s not a set-in-stone sort of schedule, but I want to get in the habit of sticking to self-created deadlines. Writing my remaining 26 scenes in 6 days is going to be a tough one, though, and I might have to borrow a few days out of the week of the 9th. Hard to say.

I’m looking forward to finishing the draft, though, just to have an ending on there. I’ve forced myself to write in linear order for reasons that I can’t quite explain – almost like I need to prove to myself that I really can write a novel without taking any shortcuts. Doesn’t necessarily make a whole lot of sense, I know, but the sense of accomplishment is looming. I can feel it!

The downside of writing that way is that I have this accumulating pile of plot holes, inconsistencies, and poor foreshadowing, and it’s getting harder and harder to just ignore, particularly when I’m not sure how to tie the later parts of the novel back into what I want to put into the first parts later. In other words, what do I pretend to have already written?

But I’m going strong. I’ve written more, and more consistently now than I ever have before. In some ways it’s getting easier, or at least easier to motivate myself, but it’s tough going. Lots of distractions. This is why I have a new plan that I’m trying out. Even though I’m really not a morning person at all, I’ve been getting up at 6:00 AM, well before work, and writing for an hour and a half or so. There aren’t any distractions that that point, and because it’s been so carefully set aside as “writing time” it’s easier to convince myself not to do non-writing things. Of course I’m pretty groggy by that point, so it’s kind of a work in progress, and I’ve only got two days of early mornings under my belt so I may not be able to continue. I’ll be sure to keep you all updated.

 

2 responses to “The Halfway Point

  1. It’s impressive that you’ve written all this linearly. I’m not sure it’s something I could manage. I have difficulty writing an email linearly, much less a novel.

Leave a Reply

