Short Story Time

As you probably guessed from that flash fiction piece I posted a few days back, I’ve been spending my two-week break from Fugitives from Earth to work on some short story ideas I’ve had piled up. It also gives my alpha reader a little time to finish reading the first part of the novel. I don’t think I can overestimate the amount of help that little bit of advice is going to be once I’m deeper into the project.

So, apart from my flash fiction, I started working on a steampunk story that was set during the construction of the transcontinental railroad, but it didn’t really pan out. It was kind of a high concept story that wasn’t really all that interesting to me, but I’ve got about 4,000 words that I might flesh out later if the muse strikes me.

My current project, which I hope to have finished this weekend, is based on a few of the aspects of the Eclipse Phase RPG that I especially like. I ran a game for some friends last weekend, and in reading over the manual and playing the game, a few fun ideas popped into my head and I kind of built a story around them. In particular, I wanted to write that kind of middle-futuristic setting with lots of ubiquitous social networking, biological and cybernetic augmentation, and uplifts.

An uplift, for those of you unfamiliar, is an organism that has been bred and engineered into sentience. Usually it starts with an animal that’s already quite intelligent, like chimps, dolphins, elephants, or octopuses, and just guide it along on the path toward self-awareness. I’m kind of curious what sorts of social effects that would have, how people would react to this new type of “other” that goes beyond race or culture.

Anyway, I’m having fun with it. I’m also starting to look forward to getting back into FfE by next week, and then trying to gun it toward the finish line.

And do conclude, here’s my random Wikipedia link of the day: Octopus Wrestling.

Leave a Reply

