Taking It Down a Notch

I don’t have a lot to say today, so I’ll just give you all a short update on where we stand with Fugitives from Earth. As I mentioned, I pretty much need to rewrite the last half of the novel to give it a solid ending, and according to the modified beat sheet, that comes to about 37 scenes and probably 40,000 words or so. In theory I should be able to get that knocked out in about three weeks, but it’s going to be slower and more careful going that during NaNoWriMo.

In a sense, it will be an interesting experience for me. I’ve mentioned before that I think the “full steam ahead” NaNoWriMo method is more suitable for less experienced authors, but this will really be my first opportunity to put my money where my mouth is. Rather than scrambling to put words on the page, drops of sweat beading on my forehand, my knuckles getting sore as they hammer the keys, I’m going to take it down a notch.

I can’t just “fix it in the rewrite” because this is the rewrite. So anything that I put on the page has a certain air of permanence about it, like I’m writing in clay instead of wax. Obviously it can still be changed, but the idea is that I don’t want to have to change it.  It’s a new experience for me, and doubtless in a few weeks I’ll be writing, “Dear blog readers, turns out…”

So, you have that to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

