Gotta Have Some Flash

This morning, I started working on my re-read of Fugitives from Earth for what might be called “Phase 1.5” of the revision. It’s kind of slow going, mostly because I have to keep reminding myself and my inner editor that I’m not doing line editing, I’m not editing for style or even clarity, I’m just trying to get the character and plot continuity straight. So no matter how it makes my eyes twitch, I’ve got to skip right over the awkward phrasings and questionable metaphors.

My inner editor hates that.

Also, it turns out that just physically manipulating a 110-sheet (445 pages at 4 pages per sheet) hardcopy is pretty awkward. I don’t even know where I’d find a hole punch big enough to handle the massive stack. At this point, I’m pretty much praying that the dog doesn’t jump on the pile of sheets on the table.

The other thing I’ve been working on today, as the title suggests, is another piece of flash fiction. This time, it’s something a little random: a little post-singularity ditty inspired by one of my all-time favorite games: Minecraft. If you’re curious, stay tuned tomorrow; I’m going to try to post it then.

Leave a Reply

