The Cool Kids are Hanging Out

It’s Friday, and that means it’s post time! What better way to go into the weekend? None, I say.

On the writing front, I’m trying really hard to get a revision of my hopeful cyberpunk story done before I need to dive into my novel, and I’m not having the best of luck. I had a good run of a couple of days where my writing was just buzzing along, but I think I’ve lost steam. Nothing dramatic about it, I just need to pull myself back on track.

Actually, there is a bit of a reason. I’ve been a lot sleepier in the mornings because my wife and I have been getting up early to work out. I enjoy the workouts themselves (great chance to catch up on my reading) but the 5:30 AM wake-up calls are playing hell with my schedule. When I get back, if I don’t get right on the ball and make myself some coffee, I’ll just lay my head down for a little rest, and then wake up two and a half hours later unable to remember what day it is. So, good for the body, less so for the mind.

Are you on Google+ yet? You should be, and not just because it’s far less annoying than Facebook. The circles feature is nice and everything, but what I’m really, really getting into are the hangouts. I’m not sure who came up with the idea, but several writers that I follow have started doing hangout write-ins, and it’s probably the best idea anyone’s ever had.

Write-ins provide an awesome burst of productivity for me because, being around other writers, my professional pride tends to outweigh my laziness. At home, where there’s nobody but the dog around, that’s not quite the case, but it is more comfortable. So, being able to have a write-in and stay at home is the bee’s knees for reasons I shouldn’t have to explain. As long as you have a webcam, a microphone, and someone in your circles who’s interested, you can get the best of both worlds.

It’s even better when there’s some well-known writer in the mix. This week I’ve had write-ins with both Howard Tayler (Schlock Mercenary) and Mary Robinette Kowal (Shades of Milk and Honey). Wonderfully productive both times, and I’d recommend it to anybody.

Finally, today’s the ostensible deadline for my Fugitives beta readers. I’m going to be pretty busy this weekend, so in reality they have a few extra days, but I’m hoping to get some good feedback by Monday. So far two individuals including my wife have gotten some to me, and I know at least one other will get the book done. Check back here on Monday for a round-up of the critiques and a game plan from yours truly.

2 responses to “The Cool Kids are Hanging Out

  1. Hi Brad,
    Just added you to my circles. Have yet to do a hangout but it sounds interesting. I think I was reading something by Mary Robinette Kowal on the subject. Please drop me an invite next time you plan one and I’ll try to attend. Or is there some site I should be checking out? This is all really new to me and to be honest I’ve been lazy about reading the directions. Enjoying your blog BTW. Always motivates.

    • Hangouts are pretty a pretty awesome way to get a ton of writing done; the more I do them the more impressed I am. To join a hangout, you have to have the person hosting it in your circles, and then they have to have created the hangout such that you can join it (making it public, for instance). The two writers who host them most frequently are Mary Robinette Kowal and Howard Tayler; put them in your circles and join in the fun.

Leave a Reply

