The Story of the System

Gah, another missed post, and this time I don’t even have an excuse! Whoops.

It’s been a good week writing-wise, though. As I mentioned in my last post, I submitted my story “The Mind Killer,” and even though I haven’t heard back yet, I’m kind of addicted to submissions right now. All I want to do is write stories and send them out. It’s done wonders for my motivation, that’s for sure, although not necessarily in an optimal way. I mean, I want to write–yay!–but I don’t really want to work on my novel. I want the immediate gratification.

Really, though, compared to the problems that I’ve had in the past, this is nothing. I’ll take this problem over most others.

And I did get a fair amount of work done on Fugitives from Earth. I’m very nearly finished with the first part, just one more scene to write on this revision. Definitely seeing the light at the end of the tunnel here, and if I can maintain motivation, I think I can easily finish by my deadline.

So I’ve got a plan: on weekdays, I work on Fugitives from Earth. I’ll sometimes casually think about short story plots, but when I actually sit down to do the heavy-duty writing, I work on the novel. The weekends, on the other hand, that’s short story time. I’m hopeful that I can finish shorts at the rate of one a month for the foreseeable future, increasing in pace once FfE is on its way out the door.

I’ve had great success in getting involved with other local writers, thanks largely to writing get-togethers arranged by Mary Robinette Kowal and Shanna Germain. Excellent writers and excellent company, they really encourage me to get my best game on. When I’m writing with published authors, I’m able to utterly focus on my work. It works very much in the same way that a hangout does, but meeting in person is always better than meeting online, even if the online part works well.

Also, I didn’t mention it last week, but my Hugo votes are in! I voted for The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms  for best novel; it definitely was new enough and different enough to grip me. For short stories, “For Want of a Nail” by Mary Robinette Kowal. To be honest, I was a little underwhelmed by the entrants in this category, and two of the stories disqualified themselves for either excessive mundanity or excessive weirdness. For the Campbell award, Dan Wells’ I Am Not a Serial Killer. This book did a better job of getting in the head of a smart but “different” kid that I could really identify with.

Leave a Reply

