The Tension’s Mounting

I realize these countdown-style blog posts are probably getting a little familiar. The truth is, they’re getting a little too familiar to me as well. This is probably typical, but I’m starting to feel more and more that Fugitives from Earth is like an anchor around my neck. I want to move on and create something new, but I just can’t seem to get away from it. And now that things are getting so close to the wire, I have that extra bit of stress that it’s all going to be for naught.

Lovely. It hasn’t been a great day all around, so I apologize if that shows.

So without giving in to despair or frustration, here’s the situation:

  • I need to finish my final “creative” revision. As I indicated before, this mostly just means that I need to search for all the words that end in “ly” and replace them with something that scans better. That’ll be finished by Friday or I’ll set myself on fire.
  • The cover needs to be done. Not done done necessarily, but I need to have a rough version for the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association trade show on October 14th. Actually, it needs to be done a week before that, so it can be integrated with the rest of the NIWA books on a post, bookmark, and other such things.
  • The copyediting needs to be finished. My wife just got a promotion and her fall term just started, so I’m going to have to help out here. I really wish that I could afford a professional copyeditor, but unfortunately my wife didn’t get a promotion quite that good.
  • I need to do the layout. I’m hoping this won’t take too long, since I can follow directions, but I also have a strong feeling it’ll surprise me. The advantage of being in a group like NIWA is that many of them have done this before and I can leech off of all their hard work. After all, what are friends for?
  • Finally, I have to submit the whole bundle to CreateSpace and get my review copy. Once I have that in hand, I’ll look through it, find a bunch of errors, fix them, and resubmit.
  • Then, I buy a dozen or two dozen copies, have them sent to myself, and sell them at OryCon! I’ll also upload the ebook version to Smashwords.
Not too much for the next four to five weeks, right? Sure, no problem.
2 responses to “The Tension’s Mounting

  1. Your stress is contagious! But have no fears, NIWA is here. I formatted Andy’s book in half an hour, and it was illustrated! I can help you find very reasonable cover art if you tell me what you want. Spaceships fighting, whatever. Give me your basic vision and I’ll send you a variety of art to look at. Lisa can possibly help with a quick and dirty proofread. She’s lined up a lot of teaching so I know her time’s tight but she’s also a fast read. Might be worth asking. You’re not in this alone, well not for all of it.

    • Aww, thanks Pam. The cover is pretty much taken care of, fortunately (I’m a fast hand with Photoshop). The only problem is with the copyediting, so I may indeed ask Lisa for help if it turns out I need it. Not laying odds either way, there. 😛

Leave a Reply

